On March 3, 2014, ballots for the 2014 National AAUP Officer and Council elections were mailed to members’ home address. These ballots are due back to the AAUP by April 15, 2014.  There are two candidates standing for the Connecticut District 9 Council seat and their candidate statements can be found here. More information about the election can be found here. Please remember to vote.

2014 Nominees for AAUP Council

Position Candidate
President Rudy Fichtenbaum (Wright State University)Jane Buck (Delaware State University)
1st Vice-President Hank Reichman (California State University, East Bay)Brian Turner (Randolph Macon College)
2nd Vice-President Susan Michalczyk (Boston College)Cary Nelson (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)
Secretary Treasurer Michele Ganon (Western Connecticut State University)Saranna Thornton (Hampdem-Sydney College)
District 1 Ivan Evans (University of California, San Diego)Chris Nagel (California State University, Stanislaus)
District 3 Mehmet Yaya (Eastern Michigan University)
District 4 Eugenia Badger (Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis)Hans-Joerg Tiede (Illinois Wesleyan University)
District 6 Linda Rouillard (University of Toledo
District 7 Jeffrey Halpern (Rider University)Robert Boikess (Rutgers University)
District 9 Irene Mulvey (Fairfield University)Michael Payette (University of Connecticut Health Center)
District 10 Charles Baker (College of the Holy Cross)Tim Blessing (Alvernia University)
At-Large (Two Seats, 4 Year terms)
Jacqueline Arante (Portland State University)Kenneth Barrick (University of Alaska)

A. Lee Fritschler  (George Mason University)

Richard Gomes (Rutgers University)

Jeanette Jeneault (Syracuse University)

Michael Kennedy (University of Kentucky)

Martin Kich (Wright State University)

Dennis W. Mazzocco (Hofstra University)

Debasmita (Debu) Misra (University of Alaska)

Daniel Murphy (Hanover College)

Lynn Tatum (Baylor University)

At-Large (One Seat, 2-year term)
Natalio Avani (San Francisco State University)Granville Gantor (St. John’s University)

Craig Vasey (University of Mary Washington)

AAUP Districts1. Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah

2. Alaska, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming

3. Michigan

4. Arkansas, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky,
Missouri,             Tennessee, Virginia

5. Alabama, Canada, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Maryland,             Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, West             Virginia

6. Ohio

7. New Jersey

8. New York

9. Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont

10. Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island




Read More